I just added a link to Michael Coren’s website. He has long been one of my favourite journalists here in Canada, mainly due to his outspokenness about his faith and his stance on social issues. In his Easter Sunday column, Coren is again outspoken about his faith:

 I am here with my wife. We… know that Jesus Christ is the Son of God, that Easter commemorates His crucifixion and resurrection and that by belief in Him we are offered eternity with the God who made and loves us.

Because of this we are thought to be rather out of step with the times, old-fashioned, extreme or even offensive. Our faith is made fun of, abused and insulted in mainstream media on a daily basis and it has become popular to allege that the problems of the world are caused by people like us.  

Coren echoes thoughts of even non-Christian or agnostic journalists, such as Australia’s Andrew Bolt. Since I have started to come out to some of my non-Christian (or post-Christian) colleagues, a have heard a couple of times surprise expressed that I can be gay and still very devoted to my faith. In fact, I believe that it is only because of the Christian values of justice and freedom that GLBT people have any rights in modern western society. It is precisely because of the faith that I profess that in 2008 I can “come out” without fear of rejection or reprisal. It is a supreme irony that I cannot now come out to my Christian friends without fear of their judgment and rejection. 

Coren goes on to say, 

Easter is love. Authentic, absolute love. Easter is the heavenly link, pulling us back to the creator.  

This Easter Sunday, as I listened to preaching about the resurrection, as I sang old and new hymns of the church, I could not help but believe. I could not help but be drawn back to the Creator. I could not help but feel His presence in me and around me. I wondered how an intelligent man like John Dominic Crossan (whom I mentioned here) could still claim to be a Christian, without believing in the resurrection. Indeed, without the resurrection, what is the point of Christianity? To be sure, Jesus championed the underdog, He called for justice and nonviolence and mercy; these are noble aspirations, and values to which I cling. But without the resurrection, they are just values that have no source and no reason to support their value. 

As I continue in my journey towards authenticity and wholeness, I dare not do it without faith. I’m too weak for that. In some ways I admire the courage of my friends who embark on the journey of life without faith. My atheistic and agnostic friends boldly forge a way into an unknown and unknowable future. My faith provides me with a sense of purpose and destiny – and I am not saying that I know what my purpose and destiny is, I am just usually sure about the One who does know – that I dare not live without. 

