Last night my wife and I went to see the Laramie Project, which is a play presented as a documentary on the way the murder of Matthew Shephard. The play was put on by a high school drama team in a neighbouring town (appropriately, this town is known as probably the most “redneck” place in Ontario).

The actors and musician were coached by David Sereda, and I was impressed by the quality of the performance. I was especially impressed by the young pianist/narrator who composed his own music to go with the play, which he played while keeping the audience informed as to who was speaking throughout the play. This was important because the cast of eight actors play at least about 30 different characters.

I’m not sure what to say, except that it impacted me profoundly. It was also significant that my wife came with me… It really is the first time we’ve done anything together that seems to have anything to do with me accepting my homosexuality. I’ll probably have more to say about this, and about the Laramie Project, in the coming weeks.

I am reading Philip Yancey’s latest book, Prayer: Does it Make Any Difference? On page 105 he quotes this prayer, which seems to put words to what the Laramie Project is all about:

A Franciscan Benediction

May God bless you with discomfort

at easy answers, half-truths,

and superficial relationships

So that you may live deep within your heart.

May God bless you with anger

at injustice, oppression, and

exploitation of people

So that you may work for

justice, freedom, and peace.

May God bless you with tears

to shed for those who suffer

pain, rejection, hunger, and war

So that you may reach out your

hand to comfort them and

to turn their pain into joy.

And may God bless you with enough

foolishness

to believe that you can make a

difference in the world,

So that you can do what others

claim cannot be done

to bring justice and kindness

to all our children and the poor.

Amen

