I have just started reading N. T. Wright’s The Last Word: Beyond the Bible Wars to a New Understanding of the Authority of Scripture. I’m through the lengthy prologue and into the first chapter, and I am feeling invigorated by this work. Wright addresses the nature of authority, and looks at scripture in view of the tradition of the church through the centuries, as well as the changes brought about by the Enlightenment, when we started to appeal to reason (the modern era).

Wright advocates for a view of scripture as a “meta-narrative,” the story of God working through history. We are in the fifth act of this narrative, and hence His will and authority is being exercised in new and invigorating ways, even today.

As a counsellor, I like to use the Narrative Therapy approach developed by Michael White and Tod Augusta-Scott… and somehow Wright’s “meta-narrative” approach to scripture fits right in with the narrative approach to helping bring about positive change in people’s lives. In fact, in some ways I’ve used a narrative approach on myself over the last year as I have moved from seeing myself as an evangelical-Christian-reformed-homosexual to seeing myself as I am – a gay man in a straight marriage who happens to be clinging to Christianity.

I’m looking forward to discovering whatever conclusions Wright comes up with.

