This last week has presented its challenges. My son, 8 years old, is showing signs of depression… his teachers are concerned about him sobbing at almost anything. He tells her he does not want to move to Australia because he will miss his friends. He also told his school principal that he misses his Dad. Who’s surprised? I work three jobs, and most of my off time is when he’s in school. So we’ve been dealing with that – I made an appointment for him at the local children’s services agency for an assessment. I’ve also decided to meet him at school for lunch at least once a week. Yesterday we bought a chess set, and I am teaching him to play chess, which he is excited about. We made plans to go riding our bikes together on Saturday, but it rained…

My wife is doing better. Thanks to those who have been praying. She is reading self-help books on depression, and, alas, it does seem to be helping. There are other reasons than my sexuality issues that have contributed significantly to her being so down on herself, but I still feel somewhat responsible. Part of it is that I’m just not interested in sex right now…

My daughters seem to be doing okay. I wish I really knew, though. No amount of probing seems to get my middle kid to really open up. The older one talks freely, and seems ambivalent about going to Australia… it’s a mixture of fear and excitement.

Me… my blood pressure is up, I feel like I’m taking more responsibility at home with my wife being so despondent, I am enjoying my work (mostly), and I know that I need to do my best for them. Sometimes I wish I had more “me” time, but I know that will come. I relaxed yesterday just listening to the latest worship music on our local Christian radio station. (Sunday is the best for the radio – no irritating DJs, no fundamentalist preaching, just Chris Tomlin, Darlene, David Crowder, Matt Redman [he’s hot] and more of my current favourite worship artists!)

Ready for another week of…

 

Harmony would lose its attractiveness if it did not have a background of discord

– Tehyi Hsieh 

