Last Sunday my daughter had the privilege of attending Madison Park Church of God in Anderson, Indiana, where she heard this sermon on “The Bible, Homosexuality, and the Church”, preached by Pastor Jim Lyon.

Jim is probably the most articulate and persuasive preacher I know, having heard him numerous times both live and via recordings over the last 15 years or so. This sermon is no exception. I find his arguments most convincing… which again has me questioning many of the conclusions I have come to over the last twelve months. (Of course, there are a few points I would argue with, particularly his use of Leviticus.)

I am not saying that I am ready to start condemning LGBT folk to hell, as Jim comes close to doing. I still believe in God, whose mercy triumphs over judgment, whose grace is unlimited and truly amazing. I guess what I am saying is that this sermon has once again has me questioning what God really expects of as same-gender attracted individuals. Once again I am faced with questions and doubts than I have answers for.

I attended a Lutheran church this morning, and was reminded of what I still believe:

I believe in God, the Father almighty,
creator of heaven and earth.

I believe in Jesus Christ, God’s only Son, our Lord,
who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,
born of the Virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried;
he descended to the dead.
On the third day he rose again;
he ascended into heaven,
he is seated at the right hand of the Father,
and he will come again to judge the living and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy catholic church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and the life everlasting. AMEN.

